Data · checked 31 August 2026
What a tiny home actually costs in Canada
Most articles answering this question quote a range with no source. So we checked 27 Canadian builders and recorded what each one publishes on its own website. 20 of them (74 percent) publish a starting price, which is more than the industry’s reputation suggests. Where that price is attached to a named model you can actually point at, it runs from $59,800 (Nomad Micro Homes) to $217,271 CDN (Fritz Tiny Homes).
Every price below links to the page it was read on. Free to cite or link with credit. Methodology and limits are at the bottom, including what these numbers do not tell you.
01 — Tiny homes on wheels
Trailer-based homes, cheapest published starting price first.
| Builder | Published starting price | What it buys |
|---|---|---|
| Tiny Healthy HomesBCPublished in the FAQ rather than on any model page; the portfolio says email for pricing. | Basic prices start at $60,000 (CAD) | Not stated: a floor price for the range, with no model attached |
| Macey Built Tiny HomesAB | $62,370.00 plus tax & deliveryunlabelled | The Skadi, 8'6" x 16' |
| Nelson Tiny HousesBCPublishes size bands rather than per-model prices. States all prices are in Canadian dollars. | $85,000 - $115,000 | 22 to 26 foot long, bumper pull trailer and appliances included |
| Rewild HomesBCPublishes an overall cost range, not per-model prices. Partially complete shells start at $40,000 plus tax. | $90,000 - $225,000 CAD | Finished homes, range across the lineup |
| Statton Rock Simply LivingBC | The price tag varies from $99,000 for our smallest Tiny Home to $200,000+ for the multi-unit Modular Homesunlabelled | Not stated: a range for the lineup, with no model attached |
| Rover Tiny HomesBCPuts the price in the heading of every model page, though the category pages carry none. | $99,900unlabelled | The Denman, RV tiny home, 245 sq ft, 8.5' x 30' |
| Mint Tiny House CompanyBC | $105,400 CDN / $82,212 USD | STR 26, 236 sq ft |
| Minimaliste HousesQC | From $119,500 CAD | Nomad 24 |
| KYRAX HomesBCpublisherThis site's publisher. The Vale is priced from $119,900 CAD for its US-delivery build spec; Canadian certification and delivery for it are planned, not yet open. | From $119,900 CAD | Vale, 284 sq ft, 8'6" x 24' |
| Teacup Tiny HomesABPublishes a full 2026 price list, but as an image rather than text, so search engines cannot read it. | $135,000.00unlabelled | Summer's Night Dream, RV series, 26' x 8.5', 297 sq ft, base column |
| Sunshine Tiny HomesBCPrinted without a currency label and without a dollar sign. | Starting at 149,000unlabelled | Coastal Escape, RV series, 267 sq ft, 24' long |
| Rolling Bear Tiny HomesBCPrices sit on individual model pages rather than a price list; other models are listed from approximately $88,000. The financing page carries no figures. | Base Price: $158,000unlabelled | The Berenstein Bear |
| Summit Building Co.BCThe clearest of the set: dual currency on every model, flagged as an estimate. | $164,000 CAD / $121,000 USD * Est. | Hummingbird, Roam series, 8.5' x 34', 325 sq ft with loft |
| Fritz Tiny HomesAB | Starting at $217,271 CDN plus tax / about $157,583 USD (exchange rate dependent) | Halcyon Studio, 28' x 10'6" including the covered deck (24'6" without) |
02 — Modular and foundation
Homes built for a permanent foundation, cheapest published starting price first. These are the units that can become laneway homes and garden suites.
| Builder | Published starting price | What it buys |
|---|---|---|
| Nomad Micro HomesBC | From $59,800unlabelled | NOMAD Cube 3 Space, 375 sq ft |
| Urban OutbuildingsABThe asterisk has no visible footnote, so what the price includes is unstated. | PRICES START FROM $105,000*unlabelled | The Peak, Mini, 24' x 13'3" (318 sq ft) |
| Hewing HausBCLabels currency on every listing and publishes a full ladder from 200 to 900 sq ft. | CAD $134,500.00 | Nootka 2, 200 sq ft |
| Dwelly PrefabsBCPublished on the homepage only. The floor-plan pages carry no prices. | $169,000unlabelled | 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom, CSA A277 certified |
| HonomoboABServes different figures by region; the US path shows the same unit at $179,509 USD. | Starting at $211,187 CAD | SO1, 390 sq ft |
| Backcountry Hut CompanyBCShell kit only: shipping, site prep, septic, assembly and interior finishes are excluded. An A-frame kit starts at $80,580.20 CAD. | $274,697.58 CAD | $196,275.65 USD* | System 01, Great Lakes Cabin, 2 module and deck |
03 — What a starting price leaves out
Five things that turn a starting price into a real one
Every number on this page is a starting price. These are the items that move it, and the questions worth asking any builder before you compare two quotes.
- 01
Delivery and set
Transport is priced by distance, and a crane set is its own line. Ask what is included to your address, not to the shop door.
- 02
Site work
Foundation or pad, water, sewer or septic, and power are usually the buyer's cost. On a modular build this is often the difference between two quotes that look identical.
- 03
Which certification the price buys
A home built to the RV pathway and one certified to the building code are not the same product, and the second is what a permanent dwelling and a mortgage need. Ask which standard the quoted price is built to.
- 04
Tax
Several published prices on this page say plus tax. Some say nothing at all. Confirm before comparing.
- 05
The spec behind the number
Appliances, insulation values, and finishes vary hugely at the same price. Ask for the spec sheet the price is based on.
04 — The ones who do not say
7 of the 27 builders we checked publish no price a visitor can see without contacting them. This is the norm in much of the industry, and it is why the question is hard to answer.
True North Tiny HomesON
The whole site is a single application funnel. Every call to action is Apply Now, and no price appears anywhere on the site.
Canadian Tiny HomesBC
No figures anywhere, including on the one in-stock certified home listed for sale.
Coops, Crappers & CabinsON
Model pages carry Add to Cart and Buy Now buttons that do not resolve, with no price shown. Routes to a free design call.
CABNON
Product pages read Contact for pricing. Figures still exist in the page's HTML but are hidden with CSS, so no visitor sees them; an automated scrape would wrongly report a price here.
Lloyoll PrefabsNS
Every model routes to a Build and Price configurator that requires a delivery address before showing any figure.
Rocky Mountain PrefabsAB
A contact form with budget bands from over $150,000 to $1M plus, and no figure attached to any model.
Kyllo HomesBC
Every floor plan reads: please call or email for pricing.
05 — Methodology and limits
Sample: Canadian builders listed in the Big Calm Salon directory, a public third-party list, plus KYRAX Homes. We used someone else’s list rather than our own so the sample is not flattering by construction. KYRAX is one row among 20 and is marked as the publisher.
Method: each builder’s own website was read on 31 August 2026. A builder counts as publishing a price only if a visitor can see a figure without submitting a form. Third-party listings, marketplaces and news articles were not used. Price strings are quoted exactly as each builder writes them.
Limits worth stating plainly. These are starting prices, and what they include differs enormously: some cover a finished home, one covers a shell kit with no interior, several exclude tax and delivery. Sizes differ, so the numbers are not directly comparable unit to unit. The headline range above therefore uses only the 15 prices attached to a named model; the rest are floor prices, size bands or kits, shown in the tables with what they cover. 9 of the 20 published prices carry no CAD or USD label at all, and are marked unlabelled above. A starting price is also not a quote: the home most people actually order costs more.
Corrections welcome. If your price changed or we read it wrong, tell us and we will fix the row and note the date.
Want a real number for your build?
A starting price is not a quote. Bring us your site and we will walk through what yours would actually cost.