Buyer’s guide · checked 21 September 2026
The best tiny home builders in the US, and how to compare them
The best tiny home builder is the one whose certification, pricing and finished homes you can verify. Those three decide whether the home can legally go where you want it, what it will really cost, and whether the builder can deliver it.
Below are 10 US builders, taken from every US builder that held its own result in Google’s US top 20 for “best tiny home builders” or “best tiny house builders” on 21 September 2026, so the list is not one we picked. Every fact is what the builder publishes about itself, linked to the page we read it on. Nobody here is scored or ranked. We build tiny homes too, so our own row is at the bottom, marked, and it has more gaps than most.
01 — What to check before you pick
“Best” depends on where the home is going and how you will live in it. These are the things you can actually verify, in the order that rules builders out fastest.
- 01
A certification that is named, and that you can check
Most tiny homes on wheels are sold as RVs, built to NFPA 1192 under the RVIA program or inspected by a third-party agency such as NOAH. Park models are built to ANSI A119.5. Those are recreational standards. A permanent home needs a HUD-code manufactured home, or a modular home approved in your state’s factory-built program. How the US standards work.
- 02
Rules for the place it is going
Your state and county decide whether a tiny home can be lived in full time, and many treat an RV as temporary use. Settle that before you compare builders. Where you can legally put a tiny home.
- 03
A finished home you can walk through
Photos of completed builds, a show home, or a past buyer who will take your call. A builder with none of these is asking you to go first.
- 04
A published price, and what it covers
Delivery, set-up, sales tax and site work often sit outside the starting price. Ask for the full figure to your address.
- 05
A warranty in writing
Ask for the warranty document itself, with the years for the structure and for the systems stated.
- 06
Delivery, set-up and site work, spelled out
Who moves the home, who sets it, and who connects water, power and sewer. Get it in the contract.
02 — The builders, compared
Alphabetical, with our row last. A cell reading “not stated on the pages we read” means we looked on the builder’s site and did not find it, not that it is missing. Ask them.
| Builder | Based in | What they build | Certification, as they state it | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Built Tiny HomesIts FAQ says its models start above the $50,000 range. | Escondido, CA | DMV-registered park model RVs on trailers, steel or wood frame | “ANSI/NFPA Certified Homes”; “All of our units are certified with Pacific West Tiny Homes” | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Dakota Cabins | Jamestown, ND, with a Texas office | Cabins and park model homes | “Our homes are built to meet RVIA (for park models) or applicable building standards” | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Forever Tiny HomesStates a 1-year manufacturer warranty. Its pricing page links a price sheet we did not read as text. | Cottonwood, CA | Tiny houses on wheels, sold as RVs | “RVIA certified”; states a quarterly RVIA inspection against NFPA 1192 | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Rocky Mountain Tiny HousesStates its 2026 build calendar is full and it is not taking reservations. | Durango, CO | Custom tiny houses built from scratch | Not stated on the pages we read | as little as $10,000 ... $170k+From small simple shells to larger finished houses |
| Texas Tiny HomesStates a 10-year written structural warranty. | North Texas; sister company of Bryan Smith Homes, Dallas-Fort Worth | Small site-built homes, including on its own lots in Granbury | Not stated on the pages we read | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Timbercraft Tiny Homes | Guntersville, AL | Tiny homes and park models | “certified and built right” (no standard named) | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Tiny HeirloomA current promotion refers to “$160k - $200k Home Builds”. | Portland, OR | Custom luxury tiny homes, plus pre-owned homes | Not stated on the pages we read | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Tiny Homes of Hope | Lindale, TX; serves Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas and Louisiana | Tiny homes | Not stated on the pages we read | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Tumbleweed Tiny House Company | Not stated on the pages we read | Tiny house RVs: Elm, Cypress, Farallon and Aspen | Says it became a licensed RV manufacturer by joining the Recreational Vehicle Industry Association (RVIA) | $ 108,959 starting priceFarallon, 217 to 390 sq ft |
| Utopian Villas | Spicewood, TX | Park model homes, tiny homes and travel trailers | Not stated on the pages we read | $112,822 starting priceThe Acadia, 400 sq ft |
| KYRAX HomespublisherNo completed home yet. Built in Canada, not in the US. No USD price is published. For a permanent modular home, your state's factory-built program has to approve the factory. Florida's registry does not list us, so ask any builder, including us, for its listing in your state. | Surrey, British Columbia, Canada | Tiny homes on wheels and modular homes, at the design stage | Built to RVIA / NOAH / ANSI standards. Third-party certification for your market is written into every contract and required before delivery. Not yet certified. | From $119,900 CADVale, 284 sq ft, 8'6" x 24', US-delivery build spec |
Also in the results, not compared
Sells plans, trailers and a build workshop for people building their own. Its FAQ estimates $25,000 to $45,000 in materials for a self-build.
An online catalogue mixing cabins, sheds, park model RVs and tiny homes, so its prices do not describe one kind of product.
03 — Where we stand, plainly
No completed home yet. Built in Canada, not in the US. No USD price is published. For a permanent modular home, your state's factory-built program has to approve the factory. Florida's registry does not list us, so ask any builder, including us, for its listing in your state.
Built to RVIA / NOAH / ANSI standards. Third-party certification for your market is written into every contract and required before delivery. Not yet certified.
So we cannot yet pass the test on the checklist that matters most to many buyers: a finished home you can walk through. If that is your first test, several builders in this table pass it today and we do not.
04 — Method and limits
Sample: every US builder that held its own result in Google’s US top 20 for “best tiny home builders” or “best tiny house builders” on 21 September 2026. Using lists and search results we do not control keeps the sample from being flattering by construction.
Method: each builder’s own website was read on 21 September 2026. Certifications and prices are quoted as the builder writes them, including missing currency labels. Directories, marketplaces, reviews and news articles were not used as sources. Unit counts and review counts are left out because we could not source them reliably for everyone.
Limits: a stated certification is the builder’s own claim. Check it in the certifier’s public directory, as you should for us. A published price is a starting price, and what it includes differs from builder to builder. We re-check every row each quarter, next in December 2026, and remove any row we can no longer source.
Corrections welcome. If your details changed or we read them wrong, tell us and we will fix the row and note the date.
Comparing builders for a real site?
Bring the checklist to a call and ask us the same questions you would ask anyone on this page.